beauty evolution

Beauty is all perception. A quote that resonates is, ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ often switched to ‘beer holder’. This to me says, only the individual can declare something aesthetically pleasing. My perception of beauty has certainly grown this past year. I use to strive for graphic beauty where I would represent ideas. Ideas rooted by a ‘logical’ (or so I thought) process. Those ideas would then manifest themselves into the experience of three dimensional space, architecture. I still retain my architectural training and practice it every day. My medium is my sketch book, working away at my moleskin (that sounds inappropriate) sketching, thinking, writing, doodling my perceptions, thoughts, and feelings. Do all designers do this?

Now I appreciate a different form of beauty, pure logic. Mathematics. To my untrained eye, the representation of mathematics use to look like a bunch of jargon.  There are integral signs, division signs, there was the letter ‘e’ everywhere, dx’s, infinity symbols, what is all this? Only now do I appreciate what it all means. I still have a long road ahead of me but every time I learn a new ‘algorithm’ I want to master it and discover its application. Where every equation is capable of possessing more information than a volume of knowledge.

What is the saying, a picture is worth a thousand words?

An equation is worth ……. I can’t even relate the value of math to anything. It is, dare I say it, infinite!

 

Here is an equation I worked with the other day. The way it is solved was graphically beautiful to me. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

